top of page
  • Writer's pictureNick

Did Yoda Get it Wrong?

I'm sure most of you reading this know the saying that I will be critiquing in this post, but I'll set the scene anyway.


Star Wars, Episode V: The Empire Strikes Back. Luke has traveled to the swamp planet, Dagobah, in search of the long lost Jedi master, Yoda. He is the only person that can teach Luke the ways of the force. During Luke's training regiment, his X-wing sinks into the swamp. He is distraught. Without that, he has no way of returning to the rebels to help them defeat the empire. Yoda suggests that he use the force to lift it from the swamp. Luke's incredulity is very apparent and he says, "Master, moving stones around is one thing. This is totally different!" The argument ends with Luke saying, "alright. I'll give it a try."


Yoda, obviously frustrated, yells, "No! Try not. Do or do not. There is no try."(If you want to see this scene in all of it's cinematic glory, go here)


This phrase has haunted me. Everywhere I go, everything I do, it always seems like someone brings it up, and it bothers me.


I am frustrated by the idea that I am expected to do something without trying. How is that even possible? The definition of the word "try" is, "an effort to accomplish something." Without trying, we can't do anything. If Bill Gates, Steve Jobs, Alan Turing and the countless others involved in computing had not tried over and over again, I would not be writing this and you would not be reading it. Our world runs on those who try unsure of whether they will succeed.


I'm sure that no one who has become successful through trying would describe their hard work as "trying" though. And that is where the problem with Yoda's phrase lies. It has shadowed our minds with the misconception that we either succeed or we don't and there is no intermediary step. It has given a negative connotation to the word "try." In reality, this word should convey hope and progress, but instead it conveys weakness and failure.


After watching the clip a few times before writing this, I think I have a clearer view of what Yoda actually meant when he said his iconic line. After Luke complains that lifting rocks and lifting his X-wing are two different challenges, Yoda states that they are not different in reality, only different in Luke's mind. That is the root of "Do or do not." We have to let go of our doubts in ourselves before we can reach our true potential. Yoda knew that Luke needed to try, but he needed to make his attempt with the knowledge that he would succeed. When we try in this way, we will always succeed...eventually. Thomas Edison is known to have said, "I did not fail. I simply found 10,000 ways not to make a light bulb." Edison tried to make a light bulb 10,000 times, and then he succeeded. His attitude was geared towards success.


Yoda's line is simple, and it's simplicity helped make it a ubiquitous quote. But it's simplicity also led to it's weaponization. When we do not have the mindset of "try with the attitude of success," we view this quote as an ultimatum. We come to a crossroads where we either continue on and do, or we give up and do not. There is no room for error and growth. If I was told that I had to develop a novel antibiotic, but that I must "do or do not, there is no try," I would be lost. In the last four months I have had more failed experiments and confused data than I ever thought I would see. On Yoda's ultimatum scale, I have only "done not." But I am determined to succeed. Each failure is a stepping stone to a more fulfilling success.


I know you thought you were going to get off the hook and not have to think about politics this time but there is one hot ticket political item that I must discuss. The conflict about gun rights. This issue has caused gridlock on legislation through all levels of our government. Most people land in one of two camps. Camp 1: The Bill of Rights declares our right to bear arms and restrictions on that right should be kept to a minimum; or, Camp 2: Guns cause a loss of life that is easily prevented and should thus be regulated and restricted by the government. For years people have argued about who is right and who is wrong, but surprisingly, almost no legislation has been passed. With the mass shooting victim tally rising almost daily now, I say we give up our cowardice and try. We simply need to try something. Whether that be regulating what kind of guns are allowed to be bought, stricter mental health screenings, or comprehensive and mandatory gun safety lessons prior to owning and operating a gun, something needs to be tried, and if it doesn't help, at least we know and we can move forward in the effort of securing a better future for us and our posterity.


Tangents aside, Yoda's quote can be very inspiring, but it loses it's inspiration when we view it the wrong way. If I were to re-write the script for this scene, I would have Yoda's line read, "No! Try not. Do."


Thanks for reading. As always your comments are welcome, and if there are any topics you would like me to discuss in future posts, please let me know!


"Sooner or later, those who win are those who think they can." -Richard Bach


(Also, there is a whole website dedicated to Yoda quotes!)

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page